Venture Center Web
NCL, India | NCL Innovations | NCL Innovation Park | IPFACE |
About us > Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Venture Center is governed by a Board of Directors, whose members include:

Director, NCL Pune

Prof. Ashwini Kumar Nangia
(Chairman Venture Center)
(Director CSIR-NCL)

Prof. Ashwini Kumar Nangia, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad took over as the eleventh Director of CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory (CSIR-NCL), Pune. He obtained M.Sc. in Chemistry from IIT Kanpur in 1983. He worked under Frederick E Ziegler at Yale University for his Ph.D. on the total synthesis of sesquiterpene natural products via a stereoselective Claisen rearrangement route.


Shri. H K Mittal
(Director & Representative, DST-NSTEDB)

Mr HK Mittal currently heads the National Science and Technology Entrepreneurship Board, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.
Shri Mittal has over two decades of experience in technology based entrepreneurship development; skill development; trainers training and faculty development; establishment of entrepreneurship development institutions like institutes of entrepreneurship development at the state level, Technology Business Incubators, Science & Technology Entrepreneurship Parks, Entrepreneurship Development Cells in the educational institutions; development of micro-enterprises; working for income generation activities for underprivileged sections like: women, scheduled castes/tribes, physically challenged etc.
Mr Mittal is an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Management , Ahmedabad. He has previously worked with the Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India - Ahmedabad and also served with UNIDO.

Executive Chairman, Praj Industries Limited

Shri. Pramod Chaudhari
(Executive Chairman, Praj Industries Limited)

Pramod Chaudhari is Executive Chairman, Praj Industries Limited, Chairman, Praj Group – an entrepreneurial company based out of Pune, India with technology as its foundation. His career spans over 35 years of professional and entrepreneurial endeavour. He established Praj in 1984. Since then he has built PRAJ into a global Company. Today, Praj is a global leader in renewable energies and environmental technologies. Praj has won the Forbes 200 Best Under a Billion Company in Asia, twice.

Pramod Chaudhari did his engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay (IIT). Pramod Chaudhari has attended the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard Business School in 1995. He has been profiled in a recently published book called 'Thought Leaders' by a leading Indian Author, which focuses on visionary entrepreneurs. He has co-authored a book titled 'As is what Is', a story of the journey of Praj recounting its trials, tribulations and achievements. He is also the recipient of the Jagatik Marathi Chamber of Commerce 'National Level Entrepreneurship' Award in the Year 2004 and the 'Distinguished Alumnus Award' of IIT, Bombay in the Year 2005 and 'Outstanding Contribution thru Innovation Award' of Chemtech Foundation for leading Praj into developing innovative technologies like Sweet Sorghum to Ethanol. Pramod Chaudhari is a passionate supporter of green initiatives, innovation, entrepreneurship and intrapreneurship.

Advisor, ICICI Bank

Shri. Anand T Kusre
(Professor, IITB)

Mr Anand Kusre has over 30 year's experience in commercial and development banking. He has been responsible for formulation and implementation of national and international programmes aimed at development and commercialisation of new technologies. He has been associated with more than 250 companies and technology institutions engaged in development of innovative products and processes including large number of first generation entrepreneurs. Currently, Mr Kusre is Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Shailesh J. Mehta School of Management, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. In addition, Mr Kusre is Chairman, MITCON Consultancy Company Limited. Mr Kusre is actively engaged in the fields of Innovation and Entrepreneurship being Member, Governing Board, Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India and Member, High-Powered Committee, New Millennium Indian Technology Leadership Initiative.

Director, IISER Pune

Dr. K N Ganesh
(Diretcor, IISER)

Dr. Krishna N Ganesh did his Ph.D (1976) in Chemistry at Delhi University (Guide: Prof GBV Subramanian). He was awarded a Commonwealth Fellowship to pursue higher studies University of Cambridge, UK which resulted in a second Ph.D degree to him in 1980 (Guide: Prof JKM Sanders). In 1987, he moved to National Chemical Laboratory, Pune to establish a Bioorganic Chemistry research group. He became the Head of Organic Chemistry (Synthesis) Division in 1994. During his tenure at NCL till 2006, he was involved in policy development, resource generation and design, execution and evaluation of institutional research programmes in Organic Chemistry. In July 2006, Dr Ganesh was appointed as the First Director and Professor of Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune.

Founding Director, Venture Center

Dr. V Premnath
(Founding Director & Secretary)

Dr. V. Premnath holds a B.Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technology - Bombay and a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA. He has also been a Chevening Technology Enterprise Fellow with the Centre for Scientific Enterprises, London Business School and Cambridge University, UK. He brings with him considerable experience in technology development and commercialization (two successfully commercialized families of products), working with start-up companies (in Cambridge-UK and India) and engaging with large corporations on research and consulting projects as project leader.